Pesto

This is an adaptation of a recipe from one of my favorite cookbooks: Williams-Sonoma Pasta (see the link below).

Pesto

  • ¼ c. raw, unsalted cashew nuts
  • ¼ c. raw, unsalted walnuts
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • ½ c. extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup loosely packed fresh sweet basil leaves, rinsed if need be
  • ½ c. parmesan cheese
  • Salt to taste (about ¼ tsp.)
  • ½ pound of pasta, boiled

Blend the cashews, walnuts, garlic and olive oil, leaving it a bit chunky (I use a hand blender). Add the basil leaves and blend until combined. Add the parmesan and blend briefly, it will still be chunky. Taste and add salt if needed. Serve with any kind of pasta. The flavor is strong, so a little goes a long way. I keep it in a jar in the fridge to be warmed up with pasta on a moment’s notice.

Williams-Sonoma book link at Amazon.com

About Amarah Makhdumi

My website that is all about writing is at https://amarahmakhdumi.com/
This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pesto

  1. Shayla says:

    Where do you get your basil?

  2. amarahm says:

    I bought a plant at the Flower Show from Mom’s Garden. The potted plant has been doing really well on my balcony and I’ve made this a few times now. I’d not liked the flavor of the basil leaves that I’ve bought at the stores here – since there are different varieties of basil, but this plant is perfect. If you want, I’ll pass on the contact number for Mom’s Garden.

  3. Jennifer says:

    Ohh…using lots of different nuts. I like that. I just read about a woman who used pecans because she had the trees in her back yard, and she thought, “why not?” 🙂

    • amarahm says:

      Interesting, I bet pecans would make a yummy pesto! Thanks for the tip.

      I had a brief look at your blogs and they look really fun and useful.

      Regards,
      Amarah

  4. Pingback: How to make your own pesto (Try #1) | Attempting zero waste lifestyle in a military household

Leave a Reply

