Corn Bread in Karachi

It’s always exciting when you are able to find an ingredient that you didn’t think was available locally. I found, what I would refer to as, cornmeal at Paradise last week. I had to prevail upon a fellow shopper to inquire if she also thought this was corn meal. She agreed, saying that it read: Makki ka atta. I am happy to report, the cornbread turned out great. This recipe was inspired by the Golden Corn Bread recipe from the American Women’s Club Cookbook.

  • 1 c. yellow cornmeal
  • 1 c. whole wheat /white flour
  • ¼ cup sugar
  • 4 tsp. baking powder
  • ¾ t. salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 c. milk
  • ¼ cup butter, softened

Mix together the flour and other dry ingredients in a large bowl. In a smaller bowl whisk together the eggs, milk and butter, then add to the dry ingredients. Stir until just moistened and pour into a greased 8 x 8 inch baking dish (batter will be thick). Bake at 375 for 25 min. Check for doneness by inserting a toothpick, if it comes out clean, it’s done.  Serve with butter and honey.

About Amarah Makhdumi

My website that is all about writing is at https://amarahmakhdumi.com/
This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Corn Bread in Karachi

  1. shayla says:

    I love cornbread, and if you say it was like home, then I will try it. What was the name of the corn meal. I have bought makki ki atta in an attempt to make this most missed bread, but I did not have much luck and did not like the texture so much.

    • amarahm says:

      I was skeptical too, and have also tried other substitutes that weren’t very successful, like a malt o meal type grain.
      This makki ka atta also looked and felt very light and fluffy. When I sifted it there was cornmeal consistency left in the sifter, but most of it was finely ground enough to pass through like flour. None the less, it turned out tasty albeit denser than I would normally expect. I will upload a pic of the makki ka atta if you like. Good luck

Leave a Reply

